Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Governance and Administration

The framework within which Cardiff University operates is based upon its Royal Charter, Statutes and Ordinances, and is implemented by a strong administrative backbone.


  • Charter - Defines objects, powers and officers of the University, and principles such as the power to teach and examine.
  • Statutes - Comprise the rules concerning statutory bodies, members and officers of the University institution.
  • Ordinances - Concerns how the University is governed within the general framework of the Charter and Statutes.

Court, Council, Senate & Committees

  • Court - Receives the annual report and appoints the President, Vice-Presidents and Court and Council members.
  • Council - The executive authority, the Council manages University finances and appoints School heads.
  • Senate - As chief academic authority, the Senate determines the University's educational policies.
  • Committees - Committees perform various functions defined by their terms of reference in Ordinances.

Colleges and Academic Schools

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

College of Biomedical & Life Sciences

College of Physical Sciences & Engineering

Professional Services

  • Professional Services -  The Professional Services support the research, learning and teaching activity of the University, its staff and students.