Find us >

Key Contacts

Head of School
Professor Simon Cottle
JomecHoS@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74506

Deputy Head of School - Practice
Professor Richard Sambrook
SambrookRJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74509

Deputy Head of School - Academic
Professor Stuart Allan
AllanS@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 75420

Director of Research Environment and Development
Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen
Wahl-JorgensenK@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 79414

Director of Research Impact and Engagement
Professor Jenny Kitzinger
KitzingerJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74571

School Manager
Ms Jo Marshall

MarshallJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74916

School Secretary
Ms Beverley Jones
JOMECsec@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74509

Current PhD Students


Please also see our PhD alumni pages.

Racheal Agbonkhese
Research: Maternal Mortality and Agenda Setting
Email: AgbonkheseR@cf.ac.uk


Fokiya Akhtar
Research: Cinema and Conflict - Mediatised life of peace and conflict in Kashmir via Indian Mainstream (Bollywood) Cinema
Email: AkhtarF@cf.ac.uk


Mohamed Nacer Bedri
Research: Aljazeera TV Coverage of Middle East Events after 9 11 and British Foreign Policy
Email: BedriMN@cf.ac.uk


Susan Bisson
Research: The Representation of Psychosis in Film
Email: BissonS@cf.ac.uk


Philippa Carvell
Research: Online Football Fandom – A study of Swansea City fans on Not606.com
Email: CarvellPJ1@cf.ac.uk


Hiu M. Chan
Research: Film Aesthetics, East and West
Email: ChanHM1@cf.ac.uk


Wei-Ju Chen
Research: The global and the local in negotiations of media power, culture and identity: A case study of international brand magazines in China
Email: ChenW14@cf.ac.uk


Victoria Dando
Location: Rm. 1.24 Bute
Email: DandoVW@cf.ac.uk


Susana Sampaio Dias
Research: Journalism and the Global Public Sphere
Email: DiasSM@cf.ac.uk


Judith Fathallah
Research: Discursive formations in Supernatural Fanfiction
Email: FathallahJM@cf.ac.uk


Patrick Fitzgerald
Research: Legitimising Dissent? U.K. and U.S. news media coverage of the 2011 Egyptian Uprising
Email: FitzgeraldPM@cf.ac.uk


Andy Fox
Research: Convergence and Interactive Television; the continuing evolution of television as a mass communications medium
Email: FoxAJ1@cf.ac.uk


Hugh Griffiths
Research: Digital platforms: Learning, change & nation branding
Email: GriffithsHN@cf.ac.uk


Rachel Howells
Research: Developing a new business model for local news provision and addressing the democratic deficit in the digital economy
Email: PoucherRJ@cf.ac.uk


Allaina Kilby
Research: Fake news or the Fifth Estate? A study of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and Political Citizenship
Email: KilbyA1@cf.ac.uk


Phansasiri Kularb
Research: Thai Journalism and the Reporting of Thailand’s Southern Conflict
Email: KularbP@cf.ac.uk


Hyunju Lee
Research: News and power: An analysis of ‘media reform’ discourse in newspaper reports and presidential speeches in South Korea 2003-7
Email: LeeH9@cf.ac.uk


Liezel Longboan
Research: Mediating Indigeneity in Virtual Communities
Email: LongboanL@cf.ac.uk


Rachel Matthews
Research: Local newspapers: production and consumption
Email: MatthewsR5@cf.ac.uk


Linda Mitchell
Research: The role of the media in peacebuilding in post-conflict societies with special reference to Africa
Email: MitchellL4@cf.ac.uk


Corbett Miteff
Research: The Future States of Religion in Children’s Science Fiction Animation
Email: MiteffMC@cf.ac.uk


Marina Morani
Research: New media and new Italians: an analysis of online intercultural projects
Email: MoraniM@cf.ac.uk


Binakuromo Ogbebor
Research: Media representation of the News of the World phone hacking scandal and the Leveson inquiry
Email: OgbeborB2@cf.ac.uk


Idil Abdi Osman
Research: Somali Media and their role in Somalia's Civil War
Email: AbdiOsmanI@cf.ac.uk


Siti Othman
Research: Factors influencing domestic news production in Brunei’s print media, focusing on role perceptions and news values of journalists and editors.
Email: OthmanSU1@cf.ac.uk


Dafina Paca
Research: Neither Here Nor There: Exploring ‘identity’ amongst Kosovo Albanians in the UK
Email: PacaD@cf.ac.uk


Maria Papadopoulou
Research: Music rituals and social division: constructing, presenting and legitimizing the social self
Email: PapadopoulouM1@cf.ac.uk


Hyun-Jee Park
Research: Social Media, Youth and Identity: Identity Formation through Social Media among Korean Youth
Email: ParkH2@cf.ac.uk


Carlo Piccinini
Research: Public Humanitarian Advocacy in Conflict: A study of agencies’ defies in mediating distant crises and suffering
Email: PiccininiC@cf.ac.uk


Allyson Purcell-Davis
Research: How the Today programme represented the hybrid embryo debate in 2008
Email: Purcell-DavisA@cf.ac.uk


Sally Reardon
Research: Live television news: Why is it done and does anybody care?
Email: ReardonSA@cf.ac.uk


James Rendell
Research: Reading 21st century horror television
Email: RendellJ1@cf.ac.uk


Merisa Skulsuthavong
Research: The Lives of Fictional Artists: Constructed Identities, Imagined Narratives and Transmedia Landscapes
Email: SkulsuthavongM@cf.ac.uk


Sara Sylvester
Research: Monuments and the visual language of nation building
Email: SylvesterSM@cf.ac.uk


Ahmed Topkev
Research: A Democratic Perspective on Reporting Religion: Newspaper Representations of Christians and Muslims in Britain and Turkey 
Email: TopkevAH@cardiff.ac.uk


Dimitrios Tsagalas
Research: The European Press and European Integration: How the Eurpean Press helps European Integration? A comparative analysis of the Greek and Cypriot Press
Email: TsagalasD1@cf.ac.uk


Michal Tuchowski
Research: Diaspora and ethnic media in the age of migration. The role of the Polish ethnic media in the process of integration of Poles in the United Kingdom after May 2004
Email: TuchowskiM@cf.ac.uk


Daniel Wheelock
Research: Tilting At Wind Farms: Selling Climate Change In Civic Discourse. The Impact Of Meaning In Advertising On Behaviour Change
Email: WheelockD@cf.ac.uk


Aulia Wimboyono
Research: Being Muslim The Indonesian Way : The Construction and Representation of Femininity in Social Media
Email: WimboyonoAR@cf.ac.uk


Matthew Winston
Research: The Gonzo Text – The Literary Journalism of Hunter Thompson
Email: WinstonMS@cf.ac.uk


Weihua Ye
Research: Women in the Assembly: Representations of Female Assembly Members (AMs) in the Welsh Press
Email: Yew3@cf.ac.uk


Xin Zhang
Research: The conflicting identity of ethnic minorities within Chinese in the context of UK’s Multiculturalism, in particular to their political needs
Email: ZhangX41@cf.ac.uk