Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Cardiff Sparkles in 2012

11 June 2012

Cardiff sparkles among the best of British archaeology
– and that’s official!

Cardiff Sparkles Archaeology Awards

Cardiff Sparkles Archaeology Awards

At a well‐attended awards ceremony in the British Museum on 9 July, many of the best projects, discoveries and communications relating to British archaeology over the last two years were officially recognised by the biennial British Archaeological Awards.

Best archaeological book:
Gathering time by Alasdair Whittle [Cardiff University Professor of Archaeology], Frances Healy [Cardiff University Honorary Research Fellow] & Alex Bayliss [English Heritage], published by Oxbow Books.

The book presents the results of a major dating programme that re‐writes the early Neolithic of Britain by more accurately dating enclosures – places of construction, labour, assembly, ritual and deposition. The book is genuinely game changing in several ways, as well as being highly readable.

The ground-breaking project, Lost City of the Legion - Archaeological Research at Caerleon 2006-11 and the innovative Day of Archaeology were among the commended nominations led by Cardiff archaeologists. Cardiff Archaeology was recognised in three of the six categories, a testament to the excellence and innovation of its work.

Dr Mike Heyworth MBE, Chairman of the British Archaeological Awards, commented:
“All the winners and other highly commended nominations are to be congratulated. Individually and collectively they demonstrate the diverse and flourishing nature of archaeology across the UK. It is a discipline which not only advances our understanding of humanity, but also engages everyone and has the potential to make a significant contribution to our individual well‐being and sense of community.”

DCMS Tourism & Heritage Minister John Penrose MP presented the awards in a ceremony compèred by Loyd Grossman, Chair of The Heritage Alliance.

The British Archaeological Awards are a showcase for the best in UK archaeology and a central event in the archaeological calendar. Established in 1976, they now encompass six Awards, covering every aspect of UK archaeology.

Gweler y tudalen yma yn Gymraeg